Page 1 of 2

Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Saturday November 10th, 2018 8:34am
by wallydubbs
I played The Alchemists Laboratory last night; because of lack of space as soon as they started the heroes set off both of them. Unless the first 2 heroes successfully kill the 2 Chaos Warriors at the start of the Quest there's no real way to search for them (absent a potion of Vision).
Anyway, now that the traps are sprung, how should it be handled when a hero tries to jump them? Would it be the same as a long pit trap (roll a black skull)? Tile wise the pits do not connect...or the heroes have to roll anything but a skull twice.
This quest also has a long pit trap on the other side of the board, which the heroes did catch and the Dwarf disarmed. But I wasn't sure if he had to disarm it twice because it occupied two spaces. The rule book does not say...
So far, I'm not particularly liking Mage of the Mirror, there are way too many bugs in the quests; but I'm doctoring it the way I see fit.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Saturday November 10th, 2018 10:18am
by The Admiral
wallydubbs wrote:I played The Alchemists Laboratory last night; because of lack of space as soon as they started the heroes set off both of them. Unless the first 2 heroes successfully kill the 2 Chaos Warriors at the start of the Quest there's no real way to search for them (absent a potion of Vision).
Anyway, now that the traps are sprung, how should it be handled when a hero tries to jump them? Would it be the same as a long pit trap (roll a black skull)? Tile wise the pits do not connect...or the heroes have to roll anything but a skull twice.
This quest also has a long pit trap on the other side of the board, which the heroes did catch and the Dwarf disarmed. But I wasn't sure if he had to disarm it twice because it occupied two spaces. The rule book does not say...
So far, I'm not particularly liking Mage of the Mirror, there are way too many bugs in the quests; but I'm doctoring it the way I see fit.

If a Hero is jumping 2 spaces, then I would say a black shield is required for success. Rolling twice would Imply there is somewhere to land in between, which there isn't. A double pit trap is one trap. If it's sprung, it affects two spaces, but only one attempt to disarm is required. Two single adjacent pit traps would both need to be disarmed seperatley.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Saturday November 10th, 2018 10:49am
by Stoner81
wallydubbs wrote:I played The Alchemists Laboratory last night; because of lack of space as soon as they started the heroes set off both of them. Unless the first 2 heroes successfully kill the 2 Chaos Warriors at the start of the Quest there's no real way to search for them (absent a potion of Vision).
Anyway, now that the traps are sprung, how should it be handled when a hero tries to jump them? Would it be the same as a long pit trap (roll a black skull)? Tile wise the pits do not connect...or the heroes have to roll anything but a skull twice.
This quest also has a long pit trap on the other side of the board, which the heroes did catch and the Dwarf disarmed. But I wasn't sure if he had to disarm it twice because it occupied two spaces. The rule book does not say...
So far, I'm not particularly liking Mage of the Mirror, there are way too many bugs in the quests; but I'm doctoring it the way I see fit.


I would treat them as a long pit trap since they are together or not allow the Heroes to jump them since jumping them requires an empty space on the other side. In theory I would prefer to make them a long pit trap instead of two single ones (I might make the change in my quest book while I think about it).
An actual long pit trap needs to only be disabled once since it's a single trap regardless of the space it takes up.

From what I can tell AtOH, MotM and Frozen Horror all have a number of bugs in them since it seems that there weren't play tested fully before being released.

|_P |_P |_P |_P

Stoner81.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 4:48am
by mitchiemasha
In my games sprung traps can't be disarmed. We have rope to deal with pits. Before it being triggered, as it is only 1, it would of been disarmed via one search with disable traps or the tool kit.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 5:42am
by The Admiral
mitchiemasha wrote:In my games sprung traps can't be disarmed.

Does anyone allow this? Once their is a big pile of rocks, or a hole in the floor that's it.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 7:27am
by Stoner81
The Admiral wrote:Does anyone allow this? Once their is a big pile of rocks, or a hole in the floor that's it.


That's how the base rules are written as far as know, the only exception I have made to this is the Falling Rock trap but a Hero needs to carry a Miners Kit which is a special utility item I have made. I made it so that the spots that Heroes get trapped they can get out of but it takes time (1d6 turns or 1D4 if the Dwarf does it) but then they have to deal with the evil wizard deck (which is actually a table but anyway).

|_P |_P |_P

Stoner81.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 8:23am
by The Admiral
The Admiral wrote:
mitchiemasha wrote:In my games sprung traps can't be disarmed.

Does anyone allow this? Once their is a big pile of rocks, or a hole in the floor that's it.


Unless of course you allow Heroes to carry off the fallen rocks and fill in the pit! 8-)

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 9:34am
by mitchiemasha
I believe the default is that pits can be removed.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 9:46am
by j_dean80
mitchiemasha wrote:I believe the default is that pits can be removed.


EU yes
NA no

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 9:48am
by wallydubbs
Stoner81 wrote:That's how the base rules are written as far as know, the only exception I have made to this is the Falling Rock trap but a Hero needs to carry a Miners Kit which is a special utility item I have made. I made it so that the spots that Heroes get trapped they can get out of but it takes time (1d6 turns or 1D4 if the Dwarf does it) but then they have to deal with the evil wizard deck (which is actually a table but anyway).

|_P |_P |_P

Stoner81.


I like this idea... a miner's kit for falling block traps... is that why they call you Stoner?