Page 1 of 2

Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Friday October 19th, 2018 2:25pm
by wallydubbs
"These boots grant the Elf an extra red die for movement. The Elf can roll 3 die for movement either before or after taking an action. The boots wear out if the Elf rolls identical numbers on any 3 dice"

1.) Only the Elf can wear Elven Boots, correct? Wizard's Cloak and Wizard's Staff specify "Can only be used by the Wizard", the Elf Quest Pack makes no specifications.
2.) When the Elf is wearing Even Boots is it mandatory that he roll 3 for movement? It says he "can", which sounds like it's optional if he rolls a 3rd.
3.) Where it says "Identical numbers on any 3 dice", do just 2 numbers have to match up or all 3? The boots would last longer with 3, he'll hardly get use out of them if only 2 have to match up.
4.) If he rolls 3 of a kind, do the boots cancel immediately or does he still count that extra die for this movement?
5.) I'm assuming he can't wear Even Boots with Rabbit Boots...?
6.) If he wears Elven Boots with Plate Mail shouldn't the 1 die movement rule and extra die movement allowance just result in 2 dice?
7.) If the Elf has Elven Boots while using the Disappear spell, a roll of 1 - 8 he's invisible, 9 - 12 the spell ends... nothing is specified for anything higher then 12, so I'll just assume the spell wears off.

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Friday October 19th, 2018 2:49pm
by benvoliothefirst
Great questions! Based on previous game experience and common sense (Anyone who says "why can't I wear two pairs of boots at the same time?!" should be dragged out into the street and shot):

1: I'd argue that anyone else can wear them but they don't have any effect. Just make you look like a ponce. But yeah, "can only be worn by the elf" would be a safe assumption. You could make a great in-game justification for this: they're only sold in the elven quarter, and non-elves aren't allowed in the shops, or they're too small for human/dwarfish feet, etc.
2+3: They'd be broken if you could only roll 3 when you needed to, so I'd say he has to.
4: Cancel immediately. They explode.
5: See above
6: Correct.
7: Or you could extrapolate out the 2:1 odds and say since he's rolling 3 dice it should now be 1-12 invisible, 13-18 spell ends.

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Saturday October 20th, 2018 1:07pm
by Nicodemus
I agree with all of the above, except #6.

The one time we had this come up (which was back in the late 90s now) we still had the Elf roll his 3 dice, but one was a different colour that didn’t count toward his movement. This way he still got the -1 Movement Due penalty of the armour, but also got the +1 die of the boots. Although we ignored the 3rd white die if it matched the two Red Dice his boots were toast.

~N

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Saturday October 20th, 2018 1:57pm
by lestodante
What if the Elf wearing Elven Boots will drink a Potion of Speed?

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Saturday October 20th, 2018 2:18pm
by mitchiemasha
Good spot on 3. It should say 'all dice' if it was triples. 'Any dice' would suggest doubles and triples. This might be an oversight in writing.
As for 6. i'm not sure i'd allow it.

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Sunday October 21st, 2018 5:39am
by The Admiral
wallydubbs wrote:"These boots grant the Elf an extra red die for movement. The Elf can roll 3 die for movement either before or after taking an action. The boots wear out if the Elf rolls identical numbers on any 3 dice"

1.) Only the Elf can wear Elven Boots, correct? Wizard's Cloak and Wizard's Staff specify "Can only be used by the Wizard", the Elf Quest Pack makes no specifications.
2.) When the Elf is wearing Even Boots is it mandatory that he roll 3 for movement? It says he "can", which sounds like it's optional if he rolls a 3rd.
3.) Where it says "Identical numbers on any 3 dice", do just 2 numbers have to match up or all 3? The boots would last longer with 3, he'll hardly get use out of them if only 2 have to match up.
4.) If he rolls 3 of a kind, do the boots cancel immediately or does he still count that extra die for this movement?
5.) I'm assuming he can't wear Even Boots with Rabbit Boots...?
6.) If he wears Elven Boots with Plate Mail shouldn't the 1 die movement rule and extra die movement allowance just result in 2 dice?
7.) If the Elf has Elven Boots while using the Disappear spell, a roll of 1 - 8 he's invisible, 9 - 12 the spell ends... nothing is specified for anything higher then 12, so I'll just assume the spell wears off.


1) I would say anyone can wear them. They are called Elven Boots, but without a rule restricting use I think they can be used by all.
2) I play that it's optional.
3) All 3 the same.
4) I would say he gets the move and then they go.
5) yes. I would require an action to change boots.
6) yes, 2 dice.
7) Rules don't cover this. As the EW I would adjust accordingly. 1-12 invisible, 13-18 spell ends.

2 and 4 are definitely things that the EW player could rule the opposite. As to 7, I think it is down to the EW player to rule on this.

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Sunday October 21st, 2018 1:40pm
by Nicodemus
Ha ha, oh my @The Admiral ... you’re way more permissive than I am ;)

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Sunday October 21st, 2018 2:38pm
by The Admiral
Nicodemus wrote:Ha ha, oh my @The Admiral ... you’re way more permissive than I am ;)


Hey, I'm just a nice Evil Wizard I guess :)

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Sunday October 21st, 2018 2:39pm
by The Admiral
lestodante wrote:What if the Elf wearing Elven Boots will drink a Potion of Speed?


Not at home at the moment. Does speed give you movement dice again. That would mean 6 dice!

Re: Several Questions regarding Even Boots

PostPosted: Sunday October 21st, 2018 5:48pm
by lestodante
in european version the potion of speed allows the hero to roll the dice and move twice. In NA version it is not a card and allow to move of 12 squares.