Page 1 of 4

Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Tuesday January 10th, 2017 9:58am
by The Admiral
Hypnotic Blaze - I've always played that this only effects monsters, but a reading of the card suggests Heroes as well (figures). How do others play this?

Timestop - This is easy if the elf plays it on himself. He moves/casts the spell, or casts the spell/moves. He then gets another turn. What happens if the Elf casts this on another Hero? Does that Hero immediately take a free turn, or, on that Hero's next turn does he/she get two turns? The "current turn" bit is confusing me, as the current player taking a turn would be the Elf.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Tuesday January 10th, 2017 11:29am
by Geofonos
The Admiral wrote:Hypnotic Blaze - I've always played that this only effects monsters, but a reading of the card suggests Heroes as well (figures). How do others play this?

Timestop - This is easy if the elf plays it on himself. He moves/casts the spell, or casts the spell/moves. He then gets another turn. What happens if the Elf casts this on another Hero? Does that Hero immediately take a free turn, or, on that Hero's next turn does he/she get two turns? The "current turn" bit is confusing me, as the current player taking a turn would be the Elf.


Hypnotic blaze affects every figure in the room or corridor except for the spellcaster. So it affects monsters and heroes equally, as long as they are in the same room or corridor with the elf. Elf isn't affected.

If timestop is cast on the elf himself, then the elf can have another turn right away. If timestop is cast on another hero who has already played his current turn, then that hero plays an extra turn right away. If timestop is cast on another hero that has not played a turn yet, then that hero plays two turns when he is up. I'll give an example.

Lets say you have the dwarf, the elf and the barbarian. Player sequence is: Dwarf 1st, Elf 2nd, Barbarian 3rd. Dwarf plays his turn and then comes elf's turn. Elf moves and casts timestop.
1. If timestop is cast on the dwarf, then the dwarf plays a turn right away. Next player is the barbarian (the elf has played his turn by moving and casting timestop).
2. If timestop is cast on the elf himself, then the elf plays another turn right away. Next player is the barbarian, obviously.
3. If timestop is cast on the barbarian, then the elf has played his turn so the barbarian is up. The barbarian now can play two turns.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Tuesday January 10th, 2017 12:26pm
by knightkrawler
Geofonos wrote:Hypnotic blaze affects every figure in the room or corridor except for the spellcaster. So it affects monsters and heroes equally, as long as they are in the same room or corridor with the elf. Elf isn't affected.


This. The card is really unambiguous.

Geofonos wrote:If timestop is cast on the elf himself, then the elf can have another turn right away. If timestop is cast on another hero who has already played his current turn, then that hero plays an extra turn right away. If timestop is cast on another hero that has not played a turn yet, then that hero plays two turns when he is up. I'll give an example.

Lets say you have the dwarf, the elf and the barbarian. Player sequence is: Dwarf 1st, Elf 2nd, Barbarian 3rd. Dwarf plays his turn and then comes elf's turn. Elf moves and casts timestop.
1. If timestop is cast on the dwarf, then the dwarf plays a turn right away. Next player is the barbarian (the elf has played his turn by moving and casting timestop).
2. If timestop is cast on the elf himself, then the elf plays another turn right away. Next player is the barbarian, obviously.
3. If timestop is cast on the barbarian, then the elf has played his turn so the barbarian is up. The barbarian now can play two turns.


As per the wording, I would say the Elf can only cast Timestop on a Hero that hasn't had their turn during the same round because of "immediately after his current turn".
Immediately means there can be no other player's turn in between, and "current" puts the spell target hero's turn (which is to be doubled) in the same round as the spell being cast.
Once more, this is another shittily worded spell.
I would word it:
This spell may be cast on any one Hero, including yourself. It stops time for everyone except the target Hero, who gets a second turn to be taken before the beginning of Morcar's (Zargon's/the Evil Wizard player's) turn.
This makes it possible to choose any Hero as the target, regardless of when they have played their turns in which order, but that second turn has to taken during this same round.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Thursday April 13th, 2017 4:56pm
by Daedalus
The Admiral wrote:Hypnotic Blaze - I've always played that this only effects monsters, but a reading of the card suggests Heroes as well (figures). How do others play this?

Just as Geofonos explained, it may also affect other Heroes.

The Admiral wrote:Timestop - ...What happens if the Elf casts this on another Hero? Does that Hero immediately take a free turn, or, on that Hero's next turn does he/she get two turns? The "current turn" bit is confusing me, as the current player taking a turn would be the Elf.

I figure on that Hero's (the spell target's) next turn he/she gets two turns. Think of the spell as a magical, time-warping "bomb" that's triggered by the target Hero finishing his regular turn.

Timestop

This spell may be cast on the Spellcaster or any one Hero the Spellcaster chooses. It temporarily stops time for everyone else on the gameboard, enabling the Hero to take another turn immediately after his current turn.

"The spell may be cast on...any one Hero the Spellcaster chooses...." As I see it, that allows for casting on any Hero without restriction, whether he takes takes his turn before or after the Elf.

"...enabling the Hero to take another turn immediately after his current turn." Through proximity in the same phrase, grammar convention dictates both "the Hero" and "his" are understood to apply to the same Hero--the spell target. For the Hero to get his extra turn immediately (just after the Elf's turn), the text would need to be rewritten "...enabling the Hero to take another turn immediately after the Spellcaster's current turn." However, as the spell is worded, it's meant to take effect after the turn of the Hero it was cast on.

Another reason the spell isn't restricted to only working immediately after the Spellcaster's turn is because then it could only function for a Hero that takes his turn before the Spellcaster. It isn't possible for a Hero whose turn is after the Spellcaster to "take another turn immediately" (after the Spellcaster's turn) if he hasn't taken a turn yet.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Friday April 14th, 2017 7:23pm
by Gold Bearer
Daedalus wrote:
Timestop

This spell may be cast on the Spellcaster or any one Hero the Spellcaster chooses. It temporarily stops time for everyone else on the gameboard, enabling the Hero to take another turn immediately after his current turn.

"The spell may be cast on...any one Hero the Spellcaster chooses...." As I see it, that allows for casting on any Hero without restriction, whether he takes takes his turn before or after the Elf.
Yep, I think that's definitely the way to do it.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Friday October 19th, 2018 1:08pm
by wallydubbs
The American version is worded as follows:
"This spell may be cast on any one hero the spellcaster chooses. It temporarily stops time for everyone else on the game board, enabling the hero to take another turn immediately after his current turn."

Key words are Immediately and Current, if the Dwarf went before the Elf casts this spell it is no longer his "current" turn, and since the Elf cast this on his turn it couldn't possibly happen immediately after, so the Dwarf must therefore wait until his next turn.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Monday October 22nd, 2018 5:06am
by Maurice76
wallydubbs wrote:The American version is worded as follows:
"This spell may be cast on any one hero the spellcaster chooses. It temporarily stops time for everyone else on the game board, enabling the hero to take another turn immediately after his current turn."

Key words are Immediately and Current, if the Dwarf went before the Elf casts this spell it is no longer his "current" turn, and since the Elf cast this on his turn it couldn't possibly happen immediately after, so the Dwarf must therefore wait until his next turn.


This depends on how you read it. Neither the caster, nor the target are mentioned explicitely in the wording at the end. As such, "his current turn" may refer to either the caster, or the target. Your assessment is correct when you assume it to be the target, but if it's the caster, then the target gets to perform an extra turn right after the caster finishes his turn.

The wording "another" implies the target has already performed a turn that round; this ambiguity is present in general, though.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Monday October 22nd, 2018 9:52am
by knightkrawler
Maurice76 wrote:
wallydubbs wrote:The American version is worded as follows:
"This spell may be cast on any one hero the spellcaster chooses. It temporarily stops time for everyone else on the game board, enabling the hero to take another turn immediately after his current turn."

Key words are Immediately and Current, if the Dwarf went before the Elf casts this spell it is no longer his "current" turn, and since the Elf cast this on his turn it couldn't possibly happen immediately after, so the Dwarf must therefore wait until his next turn.


This depends on how you read it. Neither the caster, nor the target are mentioned explicitely in the wording at the end. As such, "his current turn" may refer to either the caster, or the target.


That's not quite correct. "His" refers to the closest aforementioned subject/object in the sentence --> "the hero", i.e. the target.
If it is intended to refer to the caster, it's badly utilized grammar.

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Monday October 22nd, 2018 12:23pm
by Maurice76
knightkrawler wrote:If it is intended to refer to the caster, it's badly utilized grammar.


And that is how uncommon exactly in all official HeroQuest material, again? :P

Re: Elf spell questions

PostPosted: Monday October 22nd, 2018 12:48pm
by knightkrawler
Maurice76 wrote:
knightkrawler wrote:If it is intended to refer to the caster, it's badly utilized grammar.


And that is how uncommon exactly in all official HeroQuest material, again? :P


|_P It's not uncommon at all. That's why I added that sentence... :ugeek: :mrgreen: