• Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

My homemade modular game board

Discuss Tile creation and share Tiles you've created.

My homemade modular game board

Postby Daria » June 30th, 2012, 12:39 pm

This is a project I've been working on intermittently for the past two months. I downloaded a high resolution scan of the game board, tweaked the colors and noise, divided the rooms and corridors into tile sections and printed them out, glued everything to black foam core and here we are. The movement squares are all slightly larger than normal to allow wiggle room for furniture and doors, an issue my players were constantly complaining about.

I ended up with 12 corner pieces, 4 T-junctions, 6 6 square hallways, 8 5 square hallways, and two double width halls plus rooms. I'm really happy with the result, although the tiles could line up better. Modular the game adds an element of surprise as the players don't instantly know where on the game board they are, more flexiblity for custom scenarios, and I could do purely random layout generation like Warhammer Quest or Advanced Hero Quest.

Last edited by Daria on June 30th, 2012, 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Daria

Zombie
Zombie

Forum Language: English (United States)
Hero:
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Re: My homemade modular game board

Postby Sjeng » June 30th, 2012, 1:24 pm

Simple, yet very effective! And it looks great!
Superb idea to use it as a modular board as well :D

You should build a frame to hold the original layout together ;)