• Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

On the Conversion Beamer, Melta Gun and Plasma Cannon

Topics related to Space Crusade

On the Conversion Beamer, Melta Gun and Plasma Cannon

Postby Maurice76 » Friday February 1st, 2019 11:05am

Recently I started playing "Warhammer 40,000: Deathwatch - Tyranid Invasion" on my iPad and the relatively short mission time coupled to the reward system got me hooked pretty fast. Because of that, I started to look around for more information regarding the various weapons that are around in the Warhammer 40k universe - not just to understand the weapons I could use on my team, but also to understand why some (like the Plasma Cannon) worked different from the ones in the boardgame of Space Crusade.

Based on what I read, I realised that the game developers designed at least 3 weapons to work differently from how they work in the Warhammer 40k universe. I've been pondering how to change the ones from the board game, to match those to the universe at large and came up with the following considerations.

Plasma Cannon - original
- Fires in a straight line, hitting everything in its path;
- Never overheats;
- Doesn't ignore armour;

In the Warhammer 40k lore, Plasma Cannons are excellent anti-armour weapons, that have a risk of overheating. Furthermore, the Plasma Bolts fired by the weapon explode on impact. To accomodate for these, I was considering changing the weapon as such:

Plasma Cannon - updated
- Single target (which has the added benefit of no longer being restricted to a straight line for shooting);
- Ignores armour of the target, making it excellent against more heavily armoured enemies;
- Changes the dice from 2 Red to 2 White;
- Upon rolling a double 2, the weapon overheats and may not be fired again until the end of the next turn;