Page 2 of 2

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 4:47pm
by The Admiral
j_dean80 wrote:
mitchiemasha wrote:I believe the default is that pits can be removed.


EU yes
NA no


Really? The EU rules allow a sprung pit trap to be removed? I have played both and never realised this. Admittedly I haven't played EU rules for over 20 years, but certainly we never allowed that.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Sunday November 11th, 2018 6:08pm
by Maurice76
We always played it that way, when we were younger. Only Falling Block Traps couldn't be removed once sprung, but the Pit Traps could be taken out.

In the upcoming walk through the game, I am not going to allow it. I will allow Heroes to disable the Traps before they're sprung, but once sprung they remain in effect for the rest of the game.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Monday November 12th, 2018 7:32am
by wallydubbs
Since we are discussing Pit Traps here another thought crossed my mind. Couldn't the Spell Scroll Ice Bridge also be used to cover a pit trap?

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Monday November 12th, 2018 8:07am
by Stoner81
wallydubbs wrote:Since we are discussing Pit Traps here another thought crossed my mind. Couldn't the Spell Scroll Ice Bridge also be used to cover a pit trap?


Yes.

|_P |_P |_P

Stoner81.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Tuesday October 19th, 2021 3:59am
by Daedalus
wallydubbs wrote:I played The Alchemists Laboratory last night; because of lack of space as soon as they started the heroes set off both of them. Unless the first 2 heroes successfully kill the 2 Chaos Warriors at the start of the Quest there's no real way to search for them (absent a potion of Vision).

There is a way:

Instruction Booklet, p.18 wrote:How A Hero Searches For Traps
  • As a Hero, you can only search for traps if there are no monsters visible to you.

With a Hero adjacent to each Chaos Warrior, a third Hero between them may search for traps as the monsters aren't visible (the Hero doesn’t have Line of Sight.)

wallydubbs wrote:Anyway, now that the traps are sprung, how should it be handled when a hero tries to jump them? Would it be the same as a long pit trap (roll a black skull)? Tile wise the pits do not connect...or the heroes have to roll anything but a skull twice.

I'd recommend the latter and have a jumping Hero roll for standard pit traps twice in succession. (But he might fail at the first trap, which ends his turn.) The fail condition for the long pit trap is unique to that trap and more likely than the 1-in-4 of two successive pit traps. I figure the Quest designer intended variety, otherwise another long pit trap would have been included in the map.

wallydubbs wrote:This quest also has a long pit trap on the other side of the board, which the heroes did catch and the Dwarf disarmed. But I wasn't sure if he had to disarm it twice because it occupied two spaces. The rule book does not say...

Any trap only requires one disarm attempt unless the Quest Notes specify otherwise. Only the two pit traps near the entrance each need a disarm attempt for a total of two disarms for two spaces.

Re: Double pit traps and long pit traps.

PostPosted: Tuesday October 19th, 2021 10:11am
by Kurgan
Realizing that later quest packs sometimes modify the original rules intent, but still seeking something official... this is from the Elf Quest Pack (page 3 on phoenix's version):

Long Pit Trap

If a Hero wants to jump over this pit the long way, he must have at least 3 squares of movement left after he moves next to the pit. The Hero then rolls 1 Combat Die. A Black Shield means the Hero has jumped across safely, using up 3 squares of movement. The Hero can continue to move if he has more movement left. Any result other than a Black Shield means the Hero falls into the pit suffering 2 Body Points of damage. The Hero must roll a 5 or 6 on 1d6 on a subsequent turn to climb out of the pit. While in the pit, the Hero rolls 1 less Combat Die when attacking or defending (but never less than 1 die).
Note: These traps can be jumped the short way, the same as regular pit traps.


If using the Rabbit Boots, would I give them a bonus? You bet I would...
But if you still wanted to make it a challenge, I guess you could make it that they have to roll anything but a skull instead of anything but a black shield, but that's just a suggestion or just let them have it.

And Against the Ogre Horde makes it clear that Pits of Darkness can't be disarmed after being sprung, but are jumped like normal Pit Traps, if that's any help.

Now the "earthquake tile" in Wizards of Morcar is said to be treated like a Pit, but it doesn't mention the crazy stunt of trying to leap over it the long way, I'm going to assume you just can't do it even with the Rabbit Boots!