• Advertisement

Courage Spell

Discuss Quests, Cards, Monsters etc, from HeroQuest Game Systems.

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby Fullork345 » Friday June 24th, 2016 2:05pm

That's what I've always thought, but you could cast it on a hero, and the monsters move out of line of site canceling it before the hero swings.

It is worded badly. So I always played it right then?
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Advertisement

Ye Olde Inn is proudly hosted by

Proudly Hosted by MDD Hosting

Host your Website at MDD Hosting by clicking the logo above and Ye Olde Inn will receive a commission that we'll put toward keeping Ye Olde Inn online for everyone to enjoy!

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby cynthialee » Friday June 24th, 2016 2:28pm

Yeah they slapped HQ together and shot it off to market as fast as they could. They saw a market and jumped at the $$ which sacrificed quality. Which is a shame. The game was interesting enough that there is still a large HQ community. {Here we are at the Inn!} Heck we are more connected as a group of people into the game than we ever where back when the game was in print.

Anyways....
This is one of those situations where I think that the House Rules situation solves the issue for the EU version. I have always played it that it stays active until no monsters are visible. But my original set was US. (I have an European English copy. The wording differences in some of the cards has threw me off a few times. I don't always pay close attention to which HQ set I grab when we play. I just grab and go.)
So it is said that if you know your enemies and know yourself, you can win a hundred battles without a single loss.
If you only know yourself, but not your opponent, you may win or may lose.
If you know neither yourself nor your enemy, you will always endanger yourself.
~Sun Tsu The art of War~


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
cynthialee

Crossbowman
Crossbowman
 
Posts: 1685
Images: 4
Joined: Tuesday September 27th, 2011 10:56am
Location: the forests of Washington State
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby Gold Bearer » Friday June 24th, 2016 4:32pm

Fullork345 wrote:I apparently always played courage wrong. Thought it lasted until line of site ended, not only one attack.
It's just your next attack, and then only if there's always a monster in your line of sight before you attack.

Saiyaforthelight wrote:Courage was only one attack in the original EU version, but was quickly changed in all later editions to be 'until line of sight is lost' - basically for the whole of the current combat, until all enemies are defeated. The intended use is for it to function in this way.
NO! It say's that you attack with two extra dice on your NEXT attack.

knightkrawler wrote:Still some dodgy wording there. "The next time" contzradicts the following "The spell is broken when..." because it points out a one-time use.
But the fact that there is that next sentence should make it clear(er) that it should in fact be the decisive part.
It wouldn't be necessary if the spell only worked for one attack in the first place, so it must determine the "multiple attacks until..." prop of the spell.
It's actually very simple but badly worded. The first sentence tells you that you attack with two extra dice the next time that you attack, the other sentence tells you that the spell is broken if there's no enemy in sight, so if you haven't attacked when that happens then you don't get the extra two dice on your next attack.

Fullork345 wrote:That's what I've always thought, but you could cast it on a hero, and the monsters move out of line of site canceling it before the hero swings.

It is worded badly. So I always played it right then?
No.

cynthialee wrote:This is one of those situations where I think that the House Rules situation solves the issue for the EU version.
The EU version is fine. You get two extra dice on your next attack. That's it, no line of sight to worry about. It's exactly the same effect as a potion of strength.

Euro 1st Ed: Two extra dice on your next attack.
Euro 2nd Ed: Two extra dice on every attack until there's no monster in sight.
US: Two extra dice on your next attack unless there's ever no enemy in sight before you make that attack.

The Euro 2nd Ed version does actually work how most people (wrongly) play the US version. Having said that, play it however the hell you like, but that's not how the US version is officially supposed to work.
:goblin: 1BP, :orc: 2BP, :fimir: 3BP, :skeleton: 1BP, :zombie: 2BP, :mummy: 3BP, :chaoswarrior: 4BP, :gargoyle: 5BP. US :chaoswarrior: 3BP, US :gargoyle: 4BP.

Wanna learn martial arts? https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHf7lqNU1J2cCmm4BtZC1XA
Tutorials coming soon.

Why drugs are illegal: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WH1B2HaInDg
Why they shouldn't be: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WpOADDXIZpo&t=1s
DMT The Spirit Molecule: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtT6Xkk-kzk


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Hosted a Play-by-Post game. Played a turn in five (5) Play-by-Post games. Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Destroyed a Zombie! Shattered a Skeleton! Unravelled a Mummy! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Gold Bearer

Crossbowman
Crossbowman
 
Posts: 1590
Joined: Monday June 4th, 2012 4:21pm
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby knightkrawler » Friday June 24th, 2016 4:56pm

Gold Bearer wrote:
knightkrawler wrote:Still some dodgy wording there. "The next time" contzradicts the following "The spell is broken when..." because it points out a one-time use.
But the fact that there is that next sentence should make it clear(er) that it should in fact be the decisive part.
It wouldn't be necessary if the spell only worked for one attack in the first place, so it must determine the "multiple attacks until..." prop of the spell.
It's actually very simple but badly worded. The first sentence tells you that you attack with two extra dice the next time that you attack, the other sentence tells you that the spell is broken if there's no enemy in sight, so if you haven't attacked when that happens then you don't get the extra two dice on your next attack.


Aaah, a triggering period for the spell to take effect. Makes sense, haven't seen it that way because of... well, because of that precisely.
Would be too honkin' overpowered otherwise, too.
I just couldn't see how a spell can be broken if it hasn't even taken effect, which is the target making an attack with +2 dice.
The glitches in this game...
HQ - Heroes & Villains (Dropbox-download link) https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jgj0kzsys9w38oh/AAA_VEHx6vMv4HKRX7IiOWTFa?dl=0
Feedback http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3560
Gallery http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1972&hilit=knightkrawler+gallery&start=200
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I've found a way of paying off old debts:
Always make more promises than you can break.


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Participated in two (2) Miniature Exchanges. Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Cheese Baron
knightkrawler
The Furry Blue Derailer

Witch Lord
Witch Lord
 
Posts: 5211
Images: 27
Joined: Friday May 25th, 2012 2:26pm
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby Goblin-King » Saturday June 25th, 2016 2:16am

I'm with Gold Bearer here.
I was shocked to realize how different the NA version is, but it's really quite simple:

You get a buff on your NEXT attack. That means exactly that.
And if the monsters manage to run away out of LoS the spell is broken. Tough luck

The last part is incredible stupid in my opinion. It's an unnecessary condition that just makes a moderate good spell worse.
There's no reason why it just wouldn't last until you attacked. I'd say it's just a remnant of the wording on the original card.
I'm glad I play with EU cards!


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in four (4) Miniature Exchanges. Destroyed a Zombie! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Ye Olde Judge Dredd
Goblin-King
Really looks like David Bowie

Polar Warbear
Polar Warbear
 
Posts: 3239
Images: 84
Joined: Monday September 26th, 2011 2:54pm
Location: Sønderholm, Denmark
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby cynthialee » Saturday June 25th, 2016 11:10am

my responses on this thread are proof that after a fatty joint I shouldn't post online....I get mixed up and confused and then I think I am being all smart and what not...
So it is said that if you know your enemies and know yourself, you can win a hundred battles without a single loss.
If you only know yourself, but not your opponent, you may win or may lose.
If you know neither yourself nor your enemy, you will always endanger yourself.
~Sun Tsu The art of War~


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
cynthialee

Crossbowman
Crossbowman
 
Posts: 1685
Images: 4
Joined: Tuesday September 27th, 2011 10:56am
Location: the forests of Washington State
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby mitchiemasha » Saturday June 25th, 2016 2:07pm

It's quite easy to see how it evolved.

1st ed. Next attack, too weak so bumped to every attack. Every attack would be too strong so needed a braking effect, 2nd ed... Perfect. By the time it got to America, they simply made a mess of it. It reads perfectly to me, but it's made too weak and over necessary for what it needs. Changing it back to the first ed would of been a much simpler idea.


Rewards:
Destroyed a Zombie!
mitchiemasha

Ogre
Ogre
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Thursday August 14th, 2014 2:05am
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby MadMickyG » Saturday June 25th, 2016 6:19pm

I use the extra 2 AD until no more monsters in line of sight (usually in the room or corridor)
If my kids can get creative, they can use it between a room and corridor effectively. It's tricky, but it can be done. Hasn't been yet, but I have seen opportunities for it.
Check out my dabblings in writing.
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Madhouse ... 4179561807
Feel free to let me know what you think. All comments/criticisms welcome.


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
User avatar
MadMickyG

Necromancer
Necromancer
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Monday December 1st, 2014 7:54am
Location: Gold Coast QLD Australia
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby Goblin-King » Saturday June 25th, 2016 11:19pm

MadMickyG wrote:I use the extra 2 AD until no more monsters in line of sight (usually in the room or corridor)
If my kids can get creative, they can use it between a room and corridor effectively. It's tricky, but it can be done. Hasn't been yet, but I have seen opportunities for it.

This would require leaving a monster behind in the current room/corridor?


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in four (4) Miniature Exchanges. Destroyed a Zombie! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Ye Olde Judge Dredd
Goblin-King
Really looks like David Bowie

Polar Warbear
Polar Warbear
 
Posts: 3239
Images: 84
Joined: Monday September 26th, 2011 2:54pm
Location: Sønderholm, Denmark
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby MadMickyG » Sunday June 26th, 2016 2:16am

My kids do that. Or one runs around trying to get treasure in other rooms (my son usually) but runs back to the group if it gets hectic, or his health is really low.

But he is good at creating a plan, if he hasn't annoyed his sisters so much they don't help him. :P

I have seen the chance a few times, and I like to reward the players when they use clever strategies!
Check out my dabblings in writing.
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Madhouse ... 4179561807
Feel free to let me know what you think. All comments/criticisms welcome.


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
User avatar
MadMickyG

Necromancer
Necromancer
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Monday December 1st, 2014 7:54am
Location: Gold Coast QLD Australia
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

PreviousNext

Return to Game Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests