• Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

"Two attacks instead of one" ?

Discuss the Rules of HeroQuest as set out by Milton Bradley Game Systems and Quest Packs.

"Two attacks instead of one" ?

Postby Kurgan » Friday January 31st, 2020 6:55pm

So there are a few ways for Heroes in HQ to attack twice instead of once, mostly through the use of Potions (but also certain artifacts like Orc's Bane). Now normally I have interpreted this rule to mean:

You get to attack TWICE during your action phase then move, or move then attack TWICE. And of course you either attack the same enemy (who gets to defend each time) or two different enemies within range (who each defend normally).

But does anyone think it is within the rules to attack, THEN move, then do your second attack? Imagine if a character with a ranged weapon could attack, move, then attack again, targeting two different targets within his line of sight. Or is that cheating (according to the original rules)?

Feedback welcome.
User avatar
Kurgan

Giant Wolf
Giant Wolf
 
Posts: 745
Images: 10
Joined: Saturday February 23rd, 2019 7:08pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:

Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Re: "Two attacks instead of one" ?

Postby Jalapenotrellis » Saturday February 1st, 2020 3:32am

I play as listed above. Move then attack adjacent twice and defend each as normal (Orc's Bane and heroic brew), or vice versa. Splitting it up makes it more powerful than it already is. The witch lord got one shot ( 3 hits then 1 hit ) in quest 14 because of heroic brew even playing with these rules. Didn't get a chance to summon anything.
Jalapenotrellis

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sunday July 22nd, 2018 2:50am
Location: Austin,TX
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:

Re: "Two attacks instead of one" ?

Postby Kurgan » Saturday February 1st, 2020 10:25am

You're right, maybe it would just be too OP the second way. Sometimes I forget about the stacking ability of those power-ups/items.
User avatar
Kurgan

Giant Wolf
Giant Wolf
 
Posts: 745
Images: 10
Joined: Saturday February 23rd, 2019 7:08pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:

Re: "Two attacks instead of one" ?

Postby Jalapenotrellis » Saturday February 1st, 2020 4:47pm

Yes, think potion of strength with heroic brew and the potion of battle. Something big usually does from that, and all are easy to get to power up with.
Jalapenotrellis

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sunday July 22nd, 2018 2:50am
Location: Austin,TX
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:


Return to Official Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest