• Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Incorrectly Played Rules

Discuss the Rules of HeroQuest as set out by Milton Bradley Game Systems and Quest Packs.

Incorrectly Played Rules

Postby Redav » July 28th, 2014, 11:53 pm

Clearly there's a 'little' ambiguity with the wording of some rules but those aside, are there any rules that you've discovered that you played wrong? Did you then correct your application of the rule or did you carry on?

Combat
20+ years ago when I first received HQ I didn't play the combat correctly. I did two things wrong;
- combat was to the death
- your roll determined both attack and defence results
I corrected these when I started playing again

Searching
I have a had a few things not quite right;
- when searching for traps, I didn't identify where something was, I simply put out the pit trap or ignored the spear trap etc
- even though I removed the good treasure cards, I wasn't shuffling the cards before drawing one
I corrected these recently

Line of Sight
I wasn't as strict with this for spells and missiles
I'm playing stricter now

There's probably more that I can't think of.
Campaign Status
EU Group: Kellar's Keep - The Dwarven Forge
NA Group: The Gathering Storm - Barak Tor - Barrow of the Witch Lord

Project's Status
Rules: House Rules and Clarifications are open for discussion
Campaigns: Thinking
Alternate Mini's: Planning and acquiring
Painting: I've started painting... :o

Rewards: