• Advertisement

Borin's Armor clarification

Discuss the Rules of HeroQuest as set out by Milton Bradley Game Systems and Quest Packs.

Borin's Armor clarification

Postby mainat » Wednesday March 6th, 2013 2:51pm

Apologies if this has been asked or covered before. I wasn't able to find a definitive answer.

Borin's Armor This magical suit of plate mail allows the wearer to roll four combat dice in defense. Unlike normal plate mail, this mysterious, ultralight metal armor does not slow down its wearer.
Plate Armor This heavy metal armor gives you two extra combat dice in defense. However because it is so heavy you may only roll one Red Die for movement while wearing it. May be combined with the Helmet and/or the Shield.

As printed I interpret Borin's armor as giving a hero 4 defense dice, cannot be combined with a helmet or shield (as that text is omitted), and doesn't stack with the base 2 defense dice. The hero get 4 defense dice, no more.

However, I think the spirit or intention was to make it just like plate mail accept you can roll two red die for movement instead of the restricted one.

Thoughts?


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
mainat

Skeleton
Skeleton
 
Posts: 26
Images: 0
Joined: Tuesday February 19th, 2013 8:05pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby drathe » Wednesday March 6th, 2013 3:16pm

mainat wrote:However, I think the spirit or intention was to make it just like plate mail accept you can roll two red die for movement instead of the restricted one.

I believe this to be true.

We play Borin's as: 4 defence dice (2 for base defence, 2 for the plate, since it doesn't state extra defence dice as all other armour does). Can be combined with helmet or shield (since it doesn't state that it can't, like other armours/weapons that can't). Ignore the helmet in the picture, as it's just a picture. Text doesn't say anything about headgear.
Image


Rewards:
Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote an article for the Blog. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in a Miniature Exchange. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer
User avatar
Lord
drathe
The Bastiferous!

Innkeeper
Innkeeper
 
Posts: 2917
Images: 103
Joined: Saturday August 16th, 2008 2:55pm
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Innkeepers Group Member Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby Sjeng » Thursday March 7th, 2013 2:12am

drathe wrote:We play Borin's as: 4 defence dice (2 for base defence, 2 for the plate, since it doesn't state extra defence dice as all other armour does)

Isn't that a contradiction? If you state it's 2 base + 2 from the plate, and you may add helmet and shield, then if you already had the helmet and shield before Borin's armor, you'd get +2 extra defense. So in my opinion it's "although it dones't state extra defence dice as all other armour does".
I play it the same, but I see it as 2 base plus 2 extra for the armour. So Borin's in +2 without the movement penalty.

RPG Gateway Die Roller's 100

Uncle Zargon
Wants YOU!

HeroQuest YeOldeInn

Image Image Image Image


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote twenty (20) articles for the Blog in three (3) sections. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Official Spokesman
Sjeng
Ye Olde Orcish Bard

Chaos Warlock
Chaos Warlock
 
Posts: 4512
Images: 92
Joined: Tuesday July 26th, 2011 9:58am
Location: The Netherlands
Forum Language: Nederlands
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby Goblin-King » Thursday March 7th, 2013 8:42am

Yes! Same as the plate mail, but no penalty. Both armors replace the hero's base defense and allows for +defense items.
And yeah, I would ignore the helmet depicted too. If you can't wear a helmet it's just a normal mail armor and helmet and not legendary at all...


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in four (4) Miniature Exchanges.Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Destroyed a Zombie! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Ye Olde Judge Dredd
Goblin-King
Really looks like David Bowie

Polar Warbear
Polar Warbear
 
Posts: 3438
Images: 85
Joined: Monday September 26th, 2011 2:54pm
Location: Sønderholm, Denmark
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby Fullork345 » Saturday March 9th, 2013 6:33pm

I used to wonder that myself when I was little. I think I used to say that if you equiped it first it worked like normal plate, but if you equiped it after it didn't. Granted I was like 8 when the game came out.

Nowadays I would say that it's a normal platemail that doesn't hurt your penalty.
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby bastianbux » Saturday May 25th, 2013 2:17pm

This has been a problem for my group as well. The way we all read it was that Borin's Armor adds two extra defense dice to 2 that every already starts with. So that's 4. But then the Hero CAN add a shield and a helmet? Doesn't allowing a character 6 Defense so early in the game make that character practically invincible? That's what has happened to my group. The Elf is wearing the armor and now acts as the "tank" preventing the monsters from causing much damage to anyone else because often times the Elf can block their path and take basically no damage.
Image


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
User avatar
bastianbux

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Saturday February 9th, 2013 7:28pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby Sjeng » Saturday May 25th, 2013 2:33pm

Yup, but that's the case. Get borin's early, buy a helmet and a shield, and you've got 6 defense dice. A bit OP early on, I agree.

RPG Gateway Die Roller's 100

Uncle Zargon
Wants YOU!

HeroQuest YeOldeInn

Image Image Image Image


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote twenty (20) articles for the Blog in three (3) sections. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Official Spokesman
Sjeng
Ye Olde Orcish Bard

Chaos Warlock
Chaos Warlock
 
Posts: 4512
Images: 92
Joined: Tuesday July 26th, 2011 9:58am
Location: The Netherlands
Forum Language: Nederlands
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby bastianbux » Saturday May 25th, 2013 2:37pm

Well I'm glad to know we weren't doing it wrong, at least. I had worried that the armor excluded either the helm or shield or both and that the wording was just not very well constructed on the card. Good to know I won't have to be telling my elf: "So, about those rolls of 6 defense dice..." haha.
Image


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
User avatar
bastianbux

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Saturday February 9th, 2013 7:28pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby chaoticprime » Saturday May 25th, 2013 4:05pm

Borin's armor works exactly as written, and does not stack with the shield or the helmet. There is absolutely no reason to ever assume that the game applies unstated rules to play, when there is definitive precedent for how the rules are applied. If it does not specifically include wording for what it may be combined with, it may not be combined with anything. Its a board game, not a role-playing game.

Also, it does not add 4 to starting defense, it allows you to roll 4 defense. If you are wearing it, you may roll 4 defense dice. The rules will state that it allows you to roll extra dice.


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in a Miniature Exchange. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer
User avatar
chaoticprime
Practically Lives Here

Swordsman
Swordsman
 
Posts: 1939
Images: 0
Joined: Sunday February 10th, 2013 3:38am
Location: Kansas City
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Borin's Armor clarification

Postby bastianbux » Saturday May 25th, 2013 4:57pm

So you're saying that if a Hero ever wants to wear Borin's Armor, he/she cannot use a helm or shield at the same time?
Image


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic.
User avatar
bastianbux

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 222
Joined: Saturday February 9th, 2013 7:28pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Next

Return to Official Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 2 guests