• Advertisement

Rules for "Dominate" and "Command" ?

Discuss new Rules for HeroQuest.

Rules for "Dominate" and "Command" ?

Postby Kurgan » Saturday March 9th, 2019 12:45pm

So Zargon gain's control of a Hero due to the effects of one of these Chaos Spells (NA Game System, Ogre Horde, etc)...

They can attack, use spells and move (using their regular movement dice) against the other Heroes, obviously.

But since they are now a monster, are they:

-Able to be affected by Traps?

-Able to use potions? (this also comes up if the Hero is killed while under the effects of the spell)

If Killed, are they immediately freed ? Do they get the "saving measure" of the potion or healing spell if no action done on their turn (if freed, does this mean they have that free action now?)
Is the survival instinct such that they can even do this? Or are they still under the evil control until they do their saving roll?

Thanks for any insights!
User avatar
Kurgan

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Saturday February 23rd, 2019 7:08pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:

Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Re: Rules for "Dominate" and "Command" ?

Postby Maurice76 » Monday March 11th, 2019 6:35am

The biggest issue I'd see is that these would enable the EW kill off a Hero, without them being able to do anything about it. I can't believe that's fun for any involved, with exception of sadistic EW's and masochistic players.

Personally, I would rule that triggering Traps is most definitely possible (with all effects) as well as using any potions they have. However, should 'fatal' damage occur, I would rule that at that moment control is lost and any remaining potions may be used to bring up hitpoints again, as the player is back in control.


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Slain a measly Goblin! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Smashed a massive Gargoyle!
User avatar
Maurice76

Orc Shaman
Orc Shaman
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Friday March 9th, 2018 1:19pm
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Rules for "Dominate" and "Command" ?

Postby Kurgan » Tuesday March 12th, 2019 6:53am

We're also assuming then, that if you kill off the bad guy figure who was the source of the controlling spell, that also frees the Hero, because otherwise my motivation as another Hero player might be to kill the tainted comrade as quickly as possible, as opposed to just backing off to allow him to keep trying to roll to save himself (while being a threat to everyone else).

A dominated Wizard is going to be pretty dangerous, but have many more opportunities to escape with his high mind points, so there's that.

When I played a scenario where I basically forced the Heroes to try to "cure" an infected Hero, it was quite a contest. Of course in that scenario I basically reduced him to the powers of a Zombie rather than giving him everything he'd normally have. It wasn't quite the usual scenario we are talking about here. Interesting stuff...

So if we say the other ways to free the Hero, other than some kind of counter-active potion, or the Hero rolling out of it, were to kill the Hero or to kill the bad guy who put him in that state, that seems reasonable. If Zargon can just suicide the Hero, that is a sneaky way to force him to use a life-saving ability or item, but the real thing is we want to see one of the Heroes suddenly becoming a threat to the others, then get saved at the last minute, right? Even if somehow Zargon takes control of a Hero, wipes out all the others and is just moving this guy all over the board, that guy still is "alive" in the sense that the player can keep rolling every turn to try to get out of it, and once he does, the Hero side has a chance again...

But the wild card here is that we agree the commanded Hero can do things a monster wouldn't otherwise be able to do... opening doors... Zargon could have him go searching for stuff, knowing he'd be triggering traps and wandering monsters (that wouldn't attack him, presumably, because they're on the same side?). Then again if we were to take the card literally and minimally, it just sounds like he can move and attack other heroes, period. I want it to be threatening I just don't want to open up a scenario that breaks the game.
User avatar
Kurgan

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Saturday February 23rd, 2019 7:08pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:

Re: Rules for "Dominate" and "Command" ?

Postby lestodante » Tuesday March 12th, 2019 3:39pm

I remember the card says that you can not make the Hero attack another Hero, but only move him.
So you can make it fall inside an existing trap or move far away from the other Heroes or open lot of doors (activating monsters, if any).
I think it would be cool if the EW could command a drastic action against the hero himself (like cut your own throat) or also using a spell (Rock Skin) on a monster to increase his attack/defence skills! Obviously the commanded Hero should have the chance to roll a dice to try to mentally resist such kind of actions.


Rewards:
Participated in two (2) Miniature Exchanges. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
lestodante

Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
 
Posts: 671
Images: 3
Joined: Saturday January 7th, 2017 9:40am
Location: Italy
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Rules for "Dominate" and "Command" ?

Postby Kurgan » Tuesday March 12th, 2019 7:58pm

Basically, the spell turns the Hero into a zombie, right? So if the now "evil" Hero dumps Holy water on his own head...
User avatar
Kurgan

Ogre Chieftain
Ogre Chieftain
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Saturday February 23rd, 2019 7:08pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:

Re: Rules for "Dominate" and "Command" ?

Postby Maurice76 » Wednesday March 13th, 2019 7:24am

Kurgan wrote:Basically, the spell turns the Hero into a zombie, right? So if the now "evil" Hero dumps Holy water on his own head...


:lol: . He's not actually an Undead :P. You could say that his muscle control is done by the EW, that the Hero in question is just a passenger in his own head for the ride, until the spell breaks. His body, though, still needs sustenance, to breathe, to use the bathroom, etc ...


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Slain a measly Goblin! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Smashed a massive Gargoyle!
User avatar
Maurice76

Orc Shaman
Orc Shaman
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Friday March 9th, 2018 1:19pm
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member


Return to Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests