Page 3 of 5

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Thursday March 28th, 2019 10:28am
by wallydubbs
So, if a hero (Dwarf or other) attempts to disarm a Spear Trap, but ends up springing it, does he take 1 BP damage or does he still get to roll for avoidance?

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Thursday March 28th, 2019 11:08am
by Maurice76
Wouldn't it be simpler to just state that if the Hero fails to disarm the trap in question, triggering it instead, he is going to suffer the effect of the trap?

In the case of the Spear Trap, that means the Hero gets to roll to avoid it.

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Thursday March 28th, 2019 2:54pm
by Anderas
The original text is one of the holes in the rules.

In my game, the model suffers the effect of the trap.

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Thursday March 28th, 2019 8:17pm
by devarionarias
I've always found that bit about searching the bottom of pit traps comical. My players search pit traps frequently, though who would ever search there for a secret door?!

Finding a pit traps in a pit trap, then try for three? :D

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Thursday March 28th, 2019 8:33pm
by j_dean80
devarionarias wrote:I've always found that bit about searching the bottom of pit traps comical. My players search pit traps frequently, though who would ever search there for a secret door?!

Finding a pit traps in a pit trap, then try for three? :D


Maybe someone should put a secret door in a pit trap that leads to a special treasure.
...but what happens if the pit is disarmed?
Seems like a dumb rule that I ignore.

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Friday March 29th, 2019 5:32am
by Maurice76
j_dean80 wrote:...but what happens if the pit is disarmed?


That begets the question if a Hero should actually be able to disarm a sprung pit trap. The rules aren't very clear about that; some people prefer to stick with the fact that the Toolkit doesn't mention anything about the trap already being sprung, while other people instead prefer to allow players to only disable unsprung traps. In the latter case, a sprung pit trap can't be removed and remains on the board indefinitely, until the end of the quest. Note that this then presents an obstacle for both the Heroes and the monsters.

Anyway, a secret door inside a pit trap would be a nice way to make a layered dungeon :P. You reach a cellar or something through it - or perhaps a totally different quest map that's below the one the Heroes are exploring at that moment :P.

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Friday March 29th, 2019 3:54pm
by devarionarias
j_dean80 wrote:...but what happens if the pit is disarmed?


I'll preface by saying I'm not sure the difference between US/UK rules, but we all play US version. My players nor I have ever thought to disarm sprung traps. I'll say doing it that way makes things interesting because the players have to be mindful on which squares in the room that stand when they search for treasure so they don't open a pit trap up by a doorway or where there's a 1-square pathway between furniture.

To the player's benefit, on rare circumstances, they've been able to coerce or force a monster into a random pit they created in order to force them to fight at a disadvantage. I often play the undead monsters as mindless drones - attacking regardless of risk of their own life.

Maurice76 wrote:Anyway, a secret door inside a pit trap would be a nice way to make a layered dungeon . You reach a cellar or something through it - or perhaps a totally different quest map that's below the one the Heroes are exploring at that moment .


Nice! I may have to work something like this in when I start building my own quests.

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Friday March 29th, 2019 8:09pm
by j_dean80
By NA rules a placed pit trap cannot be disarmed.

I was referring to the Quest designer placing a secret door in a pit but then the Heroes disarm the pit before being sprung making the secret door not accessible.

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Friday March 29th, 2019 9:58pm
by devarionarias
Ahhh, yeah, that would definitely be a bummer. I suppose you could just make a special case that disarming this special one just allows them to enter the pit trap without losing a BP. :)

Re: Traps Write-Up

PostPosted: Saturday March 30th, 2019 11:10am
by mitchiemasha
NOOOOOO! lol! A trap is disarmed even if losing 1 BP. The hero doesn't fail to remove the trap, they simply harm themselves in the act of doing so.

How I do it... the simplest!
Disarm Trap Skill: Remove a trap you find.
ToolKit: Remove a trap you find. Roll 1Cd6, Skull -1BP.

Sprung pittraps and rockfalls can't be removed. "Find" is the result of performing a search action. Again... Placement is irrelevant. The action includes any thematic movement that might of been required.

In the case of secret doors in a trap, that would be a special case trap that isn't removed if disarmed, simply placed on the board. Which would suggest that there was something special about this trap, triggering the potential of attempting a traps and secret doors search with in it.