• Advertisement

Polar Warbear double attack

Discuss Quests, Cards, Monsters etc, from the Barbarian Quest Pack: The Frozen Horror.

Polar Warbear double attack

Postby The Admiral » Wednesday May 6th, 2015 9:09am

I have been wandering about the mechanics of this attack?

The rules say that you may only defend against one attack. can you choose which one? i.e. does the WB make both rolls and then you decide which to defend against? If that is not the case then can you choose not to defend against the first attack if it is weak (1 skull), and gamble that the second attack isn't a total miss? Or do you have to defend against the first attack as long as at least one skull was rolled?

I must say that whichever is the case I don't like the mechanic. 8 attack dice is bad enough without hampering the poor Hero in defence as well.
The Admiral

Giant Wolf
Giant Wolf
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Wednesday April 8th, 2015 7:31am
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby Count Mohawk » Wednesday May 6th, 2015 9:24am

I believe the Hero probably has to decide whether or not to block the first attack without knowing what the Warbear will do with its second blow. After all, the Warbear could in theory choose to attack two separate Heroes in its turn if it was adjacent to both, so if the first Hero doesn't block, it could choose to switch targets afterwards and waste that Hero's potential defense roll.

However, the idea that Heroes can only block one attack per monster per turn always struck me as dumb. Of all rules to disregard from the official Hero Quest ruleset, this one is probably in the top three. You could also choose to nerf the Warbear's ability down to "This monster may attack two separate Heroes on its turn" if you don't want to negate the rules entirely. We ran into this problem during the HQ25 Ye Olde Inn process with our Minotaur monster and circumvented it in much the same way. (I wonder if we'll ever finish that one)


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle!
User avatar
Marquis of Math
Count Mohawk

Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
 
Posts: 625
Joined: Thursday July 11th, 2013 5:18pm
Location: New England, USA
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby The Admiral » Wednesday May 6th, 2015 9:33am

When we played frozen Horror we Houseruled that the PWB could either make one 8 dice attack or two 4 dice attacks on separate targets.
The Admiral

Giant Wolf
Giant Wolf
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Wednesday April 8th, 2015 7:31am
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby drathe » Thursday May 7th, 2015 1:36am

The Admiral wrote:When we played frozen Horror we Houseruled that the PWB could either make one 8 dice attack or two 4 dice attacks on separate targets.

I might try that with my group if they get there. Otherwise, we agreed that all attacks may be defended, instead of just one for both Heroes and Monsters. The Frozen Horror is tough enough and so is the Warbear.
Image


Rewards:
Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote an article for the Blog. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in a Miniature Exchange. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer
User avatar
Lord
drathe
The Bastiferous!

Innkeeper
Innkeeper
 
Posts: 2913
Images: 103
Joined: Saturday August 16th, 2008 2:55pm
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Innkeepers Group Member Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby Daedalus » Wednesday June 3rd, 2015 1:29pm

The Admiral wrote:When we played frozen Horror we Houseruled that the PWB could either make one 8 dice attack or two 4 dice attacks on separate targets.

This works. Found on p.22 of the NA Instruction Booklet under How A Hero Defends:

    A defending Hero usually rolls 2 Defend
    Dice (less if in a pit or under certain
    spells, and more after purchasing armor).
    Each white shield rolled by the defending
    Hero blocks 1 hit from the attacking monster.
It is not stated that the Defend Dice rolled only block a single attack from a monster. Rather, a Hero defends against all hits, whether from one attack, two, or even more. This is equivalent of your house-rule of defending against one 8 dice attack--but it turns out it is really just playing by the rules. Score one for you, and one for Stephen Baker.
..
UNCLE ZARGON
Image
WANTS.. YOU


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in five (5) Play-by-Post games. Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy!Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered all eight (8) Game System monsters. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Editor-in-Chief
Daedalus
Slacker Ruleslawyer

Wizard
Wizard
 
Posts: 3490
Images: 14
Joined: Monday May 9th, 2011 2:31pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby knightkrawler » Wednesday June 3rd, 2015 1:52pm

Wait a minute. Before your excerpt, on page 22:

    The monster makes an attack roll, blablablubb
    and then
    'If hit, the Hero immediately
    defends by rolling his Defend Dice.
    '

It even is italized as if Baker had something specific in mind.
So, in the case of two attacks are against the same hero, he gets to defend twice, both times following this above instruction and if the second attack results in a skull or more.
Keep in mind that defend is not an action but rather a reaction to each and every attack as this sentence clearly shows.
HQ - Heroes & Villains (Dropbox-download link) https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jgj0kzsys9w38oh/AAA_VEHx6vMv4HKRX7IiOWTFa?dl=0
Feedback http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3560
Gallery http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1972&hilit=knightkrawler+gallery&start=200
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I've found a way of paying off old debts:
Always make more promises than you can break.


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Cheese Baron
knightkrawler
The Furry Blue Derailer

Witch Lord
Witch Lord
 
Posts: 5732
Images: 27
Joined: Friday May 25th, 2012 2:26pm
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby sajungzak » Saturday June 6th, 2015 4:27pm

We discussed defending against multiple attacks a while back on the Weapon Strengths apart from +1D or -1D thread (http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=143&t=2693&p=47206&hilit=Multiple#p47206)

Here is some of it...
Goblin-King wrote:
sajungzak wrote:As Zargon, I will continue to defend against multiple attacks respectively. by the way, the Frozen Horror rules regarding monsters with multiple attacks really only applies to those quests, then, right? Seems to me they should've just included it on the monster cards or in the quest notes to avoid any confusion. (or the heroes feeling gypped)

Well, that's a good question.
On one hand, the rules for heroes and monsters are generally the same. It would be logical to apply a certain rule to both.
It would also make sense for a later expansion to elaborate on certain rules/situations the base set didn't address, thus applying to the entire game.

On the other hand those are all presumptions. Unless a rule explicitly states to apply to other things, it only applies to the things it's specifically states to apply to.

And then on the third hand... HQ is basically a mess when it comes to rules... :lol:


:2cents:

sajungzak wrote:Seems that way! Id agree, that, to be fair, the rules should work both ways, if only the original instruction booklet didn't spell it out word for word both ways. They wrote it twice, once for monsters, and once for heroes. Then in BQP, it is only one way.
I think they want the Barb to die at least once, and be forced to start fresh. Maybe...
Well, now I am getting off topic.
this is where I've been posting my painting progress so far:
http://www.facebook.com/zachary.lewis.96


Rewards:
Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Created a Hot Topic. Participated in two (2) Miniature Exchanges. Destroyed a Zombie!
User avatar
sajungzak

Elven Archer
Elven Archer
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Sunday May 19th, 2013 4:10pm
Location: Spokane, Washington
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby mitchiemasha » Monday June 8th, 2015 1:32am

The Admiral wrote:When we played frozen Horror we Houseruled that the PWB could either make one 8 dice attack or two 4 dice attacks on separate targets.


That's how i'd interpret the rule.


Rewards:
Destroyed a Zombie! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
Prince
mitchiemasha

Scout
Scout
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Thursday August 14th, 2014 2:05am
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby knightkrawler » Monday June 8th, 2015 1:42am

mitchiemasha wrote:
The Admiral wrote:When we played frozen Horror we Houseruled that the PWB could either make one 8 dice attack or two 4 dice attacks on separate targets.


That's how i'd interpret the rule.


Because you consider the PWB rule to overrule the game system's instruction manual?
HQ - Heroes & Villains (Dropbox-download link) https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jgj0kzsys9w38oh/AAA_VEHx6vMv4HKRX7IiOWTFa?dl=0
Feedback http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3560
Gallery http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1972&hilit=knightkrawler+gallery&start=200
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I've found a way of paying off old debts:
Always make more promises than you can break.


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Cheese Baron
knightkrawler
The Furry Blue Derailer

Witch Lord
Witch Lord
 
Posts: 5732
Images: 27
Joined: Friday May 25th, 2012 2:26pm
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Polar Warbear double attack

Postby The Admiral » Sunday June 14th, 2015 4:54pm

knightkrawler wrote:
mitchiemasha wrote:
The Admiral wrote:When we played frozen Horror we Houseruled that the PWB could either make one 8 dice attack or two 4 dice attacks on separate targets.


That's how i'd interpret the rule.


Because you consider the PWB rule to overrule the game system's instruction manual?


in my humble opinion a special rule/ability overides the general rules.
The Admiral

Giant Wolf
Giant Wolf
 
Posts: 700
Joined: Wednesday April 8th, 2015 7:31am
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Next

Return to The Frozen Horror

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest