• Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

The Les Edwards Interview Jan/2022

Discuss general topics relating to HeroQuest that don't fit well in the categories below.

The Les Edwards Interview Jan/2022

Postby Harjie » January 16th, 2022, 11:24 am

Hi all

With HeroQuest relaunched, I contacted Les Edwards, original illustrator of the cover art for HQ and expansion sets, to see if he'd answer some questions about his work and the art he painted for Heroquest.

Shown below are his responses.

This Forum post includes a bonus question (No.17) that wasn't previously included when I first posted this interview on Facebook :)

Enjoy!!

1. What is your art background, where did you study and is there something from your studies that you found useful later in your career?

I studied Graphic Design at Hornsey College of Art which no longer exists. Most of the practical things I was taught, such as manual typesetting and what was known as "paste up " have long been made redundant by the coming of the computer.

Probably the most important thing I got from art school was being able to try out different areas such as film or photography before finally deciding I wanted to be an illustrator.

2. How did your involvement start with being selected to do the box cover art for the original 1989 HeroQuest game?

At that time, I had an agent and all my work came through them. I'd been doing some work for Games Workshop and had been painting some book covers for Conan the Barbarian paperbacks, so I suppose I was the "go-to" person for a sort of combination of the two.

There were other illustrators at the agency who could have handled the job equally, Jim Burns and Terry Oakes come to mind, but luckily it came my way.