• Advertisement

Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Discuss Quests, Cards, Monsters etc, from the Elf Quest Pack: The Mage of the Mirror.

Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby torilen » Monday March 4th, 2013 6:03pm

I've just been looking at the artifacts from the elf quest. Some of them say that only the elf can use them.
Some others, however, do not specifically say that only the elf can use them, but the description mentions
only the elf, instead of "the user" or "the hero" or some other generic descriptor to denote who can use
that artifact.

So...how would you all rule on this? My personal opinion would be that, unless it specifically states that only
the elf can use them, anyone can...that they used the elf in the description because the artifacts are from
the elf quest pack.
Magic beats the blade every time...unless you are caught asleep or else-wise occupied.


Rewards:
Hosted a Play-by-Post game. Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote an article for the Blog. Created a Hot Topic.
torilen

Crossbowman
Crossbowman
 
Posts: 1745
Joined: Friday October 9th, 2009 4:18am
Location: Virginia, USA
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby Sjeng » Tuesday March 5th, 2013 2:11am

That's what I do. just as you described.

RPG Gateway Die Roller's 100

Uncle Zargon
Wants YOU!

HeroQuest YeOldeInn

Image Image Image Image


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote twenty (20) articles for the Blog in three (3) sections. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in two (2) Miniature Exchanges. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Official Spokesman
Sjeng
Ye Olde Orcish Bard

Doomguard
Doomguard
 
Posts: 4489
Images: 92
Joined: Tuesday July 26th, 2011 9:58am
Location: The Netherlands
Forum Language: Nederlands
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby Daedalus » Thursday March 7th, 2013 10:13pm

The problem is only with two artifact cards which aren't clear as to user restrictions, the Ancient Staff and Elven Boots. The other cards either clearly exclude use for all Heroes but the Elf, such as the Elven Bracers, or clearly include use for all Heroes, such as the Bone Wand. My first impression was to allow the Ancient Staff and Elven Boots for the Elf only as the wording was specifically inclusive for the Elf. However, that impression was obviously weakened due to the contradictory nature of the wording between the EQP artifact cards as a whole, as you already stated.

So I took a look at the BQP. No ambiguous wording there. The Amulet of the North is the only exclusionary artifact, and the wording is clear it may only be worn by the Barbarian. From the EQP, the Elven Bracers are also clearly exclusionary and anagolous to this. The Bow of Vindication of the EQP also contains exclusionary wording, so I'd say this sets a strong precedent when considering the Ancient Staff and Elven Boots. It appears to me that the EQP was written with poor wording and published first. The BQP is a kind of revision in regards to artifacts that avoids the ambiguous wording of the Ancient Staff and Elven Boots.

I also expanded the reference base by checking out the NA Main Game System artifacts. While several of them contain exclusionary wording for and against the Wizard, two artifacts, the Spell Ring and Wand of Magic, are more relevant because they list just the Elf and Wizard as using them. This is similar to the Ancient Staff and Elven Boots which list just the Elf as using them. There is an important difference, however, as the Spell Ring and Wand of Magic are used to cast magic, which the Barbarian and Dwarf are incapable of doing. Use of these artifacts are not defined by the inclusion of the Elf and the Wizard names, but rather the ability to cast spells--a restriction. This again supports exclusionary wording as a precedent for interpreting who can and can't use an artifact.

Taking these other sources in comparison, I'd say I side with both you and Sjeng. Exclusionary wording is the thing to pay attention to. Calling out the Elf name is secondary and probably a result of poor editing.
________
UNCLE ZARGON
WANTS YOU

Image
VOTE NOW!


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in five (5) Play-by-Post games. Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy!Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered all eight (8) Game System monsters. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Editor-in-Chief
Daedalus
Slacker Ruleslawyer

Yeti
Yeti
 
Posts: 2928
Images: 14
Joined: Monday May 9th, 2011 2:31pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby tomye » Friday August 1st, 2014 5:36pm

Do you also think the elven chain mail works like borins armor but can only be worn by the elf?
tomye

Skeleton
Skeleton
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Monday July 21st, 2014 3:09pm
Forum Language: Deutsch
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby Daedalus » Tuesday September 9th, 2014 6:57pm

"...magical Elven Chain Mail armor. This armor gives the Elf 2 extra defend dice. I may be combined with a helmet and shield."

I'd gonna stick with what I posted above and say anyone can wear it, as there isn't exclusionary wording. Rather, Elf was mentioned in context of the storyline. You can consider it equal to Borin's Armor, or better if you rule Borin's Armor can't be combined with a helmet due to the picture.
________
UNCLE ZARGON
WANTS YOU

Image
VOTE NOW!


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in five (5) Play-by-Post games. Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy!Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered all eight (8) Game System monsters. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Editor-in-Chief
Daedalus
Slacker Ruleslawyer

Yeti
Yeti
 
Posts: 2928
Images: 14
Joined: Monday May 9th, 2011 2:31pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby chaoticprime » Tuesday September 9th, 2014 7:04pm

torilen wrote:I've just been looking at the artifacts from the elf quest. Some of them say that only the elf can use them.
Some others, however, do not specifically say that only the elf can use them, but the description mentions
only the elf, instead of "the user" or "the hero" or some other generic descriptor to denote who can use
that artifact.

So...how would you all rule on this? My personal opinion would be that, unless it specifically states that only
the elf can use them, anyone can...that they used the elf in the description because the artifacts are from
the elf quest pack.


I am pretty sure they worded it the way they did on purpose; yes.


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in a Miniature Exchange. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer
User avatar
chaoticprime
Practically Lives Here

Swordsman
Swordsman
 
Posts: 1939
Images: 0
Joined: Sunday February 10th, 2013 3:38am
Location: Kansas City
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby Redav » Tuesday September 9th, 2014 8:50pm

torilen wrote:So...how would you all rule on this?

I'd rule it as written. I had a quick read of the EQP cards and I think they're pretty clear. They mention that it's either Elf only or for anyone.

Daedalus wrote:"...magical Elven Chain Mail armor. This armor gives the Elf 2 extra defend dice. I may be combined with a helmet and shield."

Where is this chain mail armour from? I can't find it (I'm not very familiar with the EQP, BQP, WoM). If what is quoted is what the card says, then that artifact is an Elf only item - it says that it gives the Elf more defence dice, no one else
Campaign Status
EU Group: Kellar's Keep - The Dwarven Forge
NA Group: The Gathering Storm - Barak Tor - Barrow of the Witch Lord

Project's Status
Rules: House Rules and Clarifications are open for discussion
Campaigns: Thinking
Alternate Mini's: Planning and acquiring
Painting: I've started painting... :o


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered all eight (8) Game System monsters. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
Redav

Storm Master
Storm Master
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Saturday June 22nd, 2013 6:28pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby drathe » Tuesday September 9th, 2014 9:22pm

The chain mail is in the quest notes. But there is no card. It is believed to have been replaced by (or be the replacement of) the Elven Bracers card as there are no Elven Bracers in the notes.
Image


Rewards:
Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote an article for the Blog. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in a Miniature Exchange. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer
User avatar
Lord
drathe
The Bastiferous!

Innkeeper
Innkeeper
 
Posts: 2902
Images: 103
Joined: Saturday August 16th, 2008 2:55pm
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Innkeepers Group Member Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby Redav » Tuesday September 9th, 2014 9:40pm

Ahh... Poor editing? Who'd have thought :lol:
Campaign Status
EU Group: Kellar's Keep - The Dwarven Forge
NA Group: The Gathering Storm - Barak Tor - Barrow of the Witch Lord

Project's Status
Rules: House Rules and Clarifications are open for discussion
Campaigns: Thinking
Alternate Mini's: Planning and acquiring
Painting: I've started painting... :o


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered all eight (8) Game System monsters. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
Redav

Storm Master
Storm Master
 
Posts: 473
Joined: Saturday June 22nd, 2013 6:28pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Who Can Use Elf Artifacts

Postby Goblin-King » Wednesday September 10th, 2014 4:04am

If they could have just used the conventions from the game system with putting restrictions specifically in the bottom of the card...

Elven Bow is very specific in it's wording. We notice there are yet still no "classic restrictions" text in the bottom. This proves the system from the original game has been disregarded.
Going from there we can only assume the wordings mean exactly what they mean. The Ancient Staff grants the ELF the ability to...

Conclusion: Staff, boots, bracers and bow is "Can only be used by the Elf".

This is the elf by the end of MotM:
Image


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in four (4) Miniature Exchanges. Destroyed a Zombie! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Ye Olde Judge Dredd
Goblin-King
Really looks like David Bowie

Polar Warbear
Polar Warbear
 
Posts: 3238
Images: 84
Joined: Monday September 26th, 2011 2:54pm
Location: Sønderholm, Denmark
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Next

Return to The Mage of the Mirror

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests