• Advertisement

Ye Olde Inn is proudly hosted by

Proudly Hosted by MDD Hosting

Host your Website at MDD Hosting by clicking the logo above and Ye Olde Inn will receive a commission that we'll put toward keeping Ye Olde Inn online for everyone to enjoy!

Invisibility poll

Discuss Quests, Cards, Monsters etc, from the Wizards of Morcar Quest Pack.

Wizard casts Invisibility on Barbarian. May the Orc move and attack Dwarf? (check photo below)

- Barbarian's figure is removed from the board, the Orc may move and attack Dwarf.
0
No votes
- The invisible Barbarian still blocks the way, the Orc may not move outside the room.
24
89%
- None of the above.
3
11%
 
Total votes : 27

Re: Invisibility poll

Postby Daedalus » Thursday October 8th, 2015 6:57pm

In light of my referencing the original spell card rather than the one from the poll, I changed my vote to 2. However, I'll add the stipulation that line of sight is currently blocked from the Wizard to the Barbarian. The spell must have been cast before either the Dwarf or Barbarian had moved so that the Barbarian was originally visible. I'm a rules lawyer, after all.

I think of the rules of the Invisibity spell functioning like Susan Storm using her force field power while also invisible. (She can do that, can't she?) The invisible Hero can't attack or be attacked like within a forcefield, but as a fluffy side-effect he isn't visible. The force field also prevents targeting a figure obstructed by the invisible Hero--a figure isn't considered visible for targeting if it is obstructed by another figure, regardless of the obstructing figure's own visiblity. Another way of thinking about it is an obstructing figure prevents line of effect, just like Susan Storm would protect others within her forcefield. That bubble isn't any less effective at protecting others within it just because you can't see Sue.
..
UNCLE ZARGON
Image
WANTS.. YOU


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in five (5) Play-by-Post games. Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy!Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered all eight (8) Game System monsters. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Editor-in-Chief
Daedalus
Slacker Ruleslawyer

Wizard
Wizard
 
Posts: 3478
Images: 14
Joined: Monday May 9th, 2011 2:31pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Re: Invisibility poll

Postby wallydubbs » Monday October 29th, 2018 11:03am

In this situation I side with Big Bene' s answer from page 1, the Barbarian cannot attack, but he does provide an obstacle for the orc. The orc would charge out the door but bump into the Barbarian, causing confusion on his part. Neither the orc or barbarian would be seriously hurt, just dazed or confused from the unexpected impact.

Time for the in game characters are not the same for people sitting at the table. The Barbarian's invisibility is temporary and the recovery time from them bumping into eachother is quick. All heroes in game time are moving and actioning around the same time. So by the time the orc runs into the Barbarian the other heroes are preparing to run in just as the invisibility power begins to wear off.

I think it would've been pretty cool if the hero could still attack while Invisible and maybe reduce the monster's defend dice as he wouldn't be able to see and thus unable parry or accurately deflect a blow.
wallydubbs

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Thursday October 18th, 2018 7:15am
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon

Previous

Return to Wizards of Morcar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest