• Advertisement

A final quest question.

Discuss Quests, Cards, Monsters etc, from the Wizards of Morcar Quest Pack.

A final quest question.

Postby Fullork345 » Monday November 11th, 2013 7:23pm

When the bosses appear as the wandering monster can they cast a spell instead of attacking?
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby sajungzak » Monday November 11th, 2013 8:20pm

from Playing Wizards of Zargon
*Each Sorcerer may only cast one spell in a turn, instead of attacking.

But then the Instruction booklet does say that Zargon must immediately roll Attack Dice after placing a wandering monster on the board. Since Wizards of Zargon is an expansion that was created later... I would say the spell is cast instead of attacking. In this case. Yeah

I say yes
this is where I've been posting my painting progress so far:
http://www.facebook.com/zachary.lewis.96


Rewards:
Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Created a Hot Topic. Participated in two (2) Miniature Exchanges. Destroyed a Zombie!
User avatar
sajungzak

Elven Archer
Elven Archer
 
Posts: 590
Joined: Sunday May 19th, 2013 4:10pm
Location: Spokane, Washington
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby chaoticprime » Monday November 11th, 2013 10:52pm

NA-wise. They can only make an attack. Its a rules-as-written thing that simply cannot be helped. Casting a spell as a wandering monster would entitle them to more than one spell per turn, anyway.


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in a Miniature Exchange. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer
User avatar
chaoticprime
Practically Lives Here

Swordsman
Swordsman
 
Posts: 1939
Images: 0
Joined: Sunday February 10th, 2013 3:38am
Location: Kansas City
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby Fullork345 » Monday November 11th, 2013 11:08pm

Isn't a wandering monster attack separate from a turn?
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby TMU » Tuesday November 12th, 2013 12:37am

Fullork345 wrote:Isn't a wandering monster attack separate from a turn?

In my games, yes.
"There is no greater danger than playing it safe."


Rewards:
Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote an article for the Blog. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Slaughtered an Orc! Destroyed a Zombie! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Second Lieutenant
TMU

Swordsman
Swordsman
 
Posts: 1864
Images: 15
Joined: Saturday November 17th, 2012 2:55pm
Location: Rauma, Finland
Forum Language: British English
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby knightkrawler » Tuesday November 12th, 2013 2:25am

Yes, it's an extra turn out of order. That's what chaoticprime is saying. It would be two spells in a round for the Wandering Monster wizard.
I will re-write this in the quest for it to actually say, a WMW can be put anywhere in the room where the search has taken place and immediately cast a spell.
HQ - Heroes & Villains (Dropbox-download link) https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jgj0kzsys9w38oh/AAA_VEHx6vMv4HKRX7IiOWTFa?dl=0
Feedback http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3560
Gallery http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1972&hilit=knightkrawler+gallery&start=200
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I've found a way of paying off old debts:
Always make more promises than you can break.


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Cheese Baron
knightkrawler
The Furry Blue Derailer

Witch Lord
Witch Lord
 
Posts: 5614
Images: 27
Joined: Friday May 25th, 2012 2:26pm
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby Sotiris » Tuesday November 12th, 2013 3:59am

Because of the active role of morcar (by moving his wizards and opening doors) all rooms will be opened within 3 turns and there will be no time for search till every enemy is dead. So if the heroes defeat the wizards and clear the board, they have this advantage: search 11 rooms ignoring wondering monster cards (cause wizards are dead). It's the only ''award'' they can acquire from this hard quest.
In case of earlier search while wizards are alive it's up to dungeon master how to use a wondering monster card. I prefer the difficult case: he summons a wizard for 1 attack or 1 spell (why not? there are 24 spells to be cast in this quest) and then disappears immediately (returns in his position to continue his tactic).


Rewards:
Hosted a Play-by-Post game. Played a turn in five (5) Play-by-Post games. Created a Hot Topic. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Sotiris

Necromancer
Necromancer
 
Posts: 321
Images: 14
Joined: Sunday November 10th, 2013 3:23am
Location: Athens, Greece
Forum Language: Ελληνικά
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby knightkrawler » Tuesday November 12th, 2013 4:05am

I agree. It's unlikely that any search will take place in that quest. You've got a point there.
HQ - Heroes & Villains (Dropbox-download link) https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jgj0kzsys9w38oh/AAA_VEHx6vMv4HKRX7IiOWTFa?dl=0
Feedback http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3560
Gallery http://forum.yeoldeinn.com/viewtopic.php?f=56&t=1972&hilit=knightkrawler+gallery&start=200
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I've found a way of paying off old debts:
Always make more promises than you can break.


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Cheese Baron
knightkrawler
The Furry Blue Derailer

Witch Lord
Witch Lord
 
Posts: 5614
Images: 27
Joined: Friday May 25th, 2012 2:26pm
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby chaoticprime » Tuesday November 12th, 2013 12:49pm

Sotiris wrote:Because of the active role of morcar (by moving his wizards and opening doors) all rooms will be opened within 3 turns and there will be no time for search till every enemy is dead. So if the heroes defeat the wizards and clear the board, they have this advantage: search 11 rooms ignoring wondering monster cards (cause wizards are dead). It's the only ''award'' they can acquire from this hard quest.
In case of earlier search while wizards are alive it's up to dungeon master how to use a wondering monster card. I prefer the difficult case: he summons a wizard for 1 attack or 1 spell (why not? there are 24 spells to be cast in this quest) and then disappears immediately (returns in his position to continue his tactic).


There's no ignoring the Wizards if they're dead. They were brought back once, they can be so again. If you search, by the rules, those bastards can come back.


Rewards:
Created a Hot Topic. Participated in a Miniature Exchange. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer
User avatar
chaoticprime
Practically Lives Here

Swordsman
Swordsman
 
Posts: 1939
Images: 0
Joined: Sunday February 10th, 2013 3:38am
Location: Kansas City
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: A final quest question.

Postby Fullork345 » Tuesday November 12th, 2013 1:44pm

Yes, it's an extra turn out of order. That's what chaoticprime is saying. It would be two spells in a round for the Wandering Monster wizard.


Well is it one per round or one per turn? If it's one per round, the necromancers raise dead spell is useless because using it prevents him from casting another spell during zargon's turn because he used it for that round.
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Next

Return to Wizards of Morcar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests