• Advertisement

Orc shaman spells question

Discuss Quests, Cards, Monsters etc, from the Wizards of Morcar Quest Pack.

Orc shaman spells question

Postby Fullork345 » Monday January 7th, 2013 1:01pm

What's the point to the summon orcs spell? Wouldn't orcs close enough for you to use it be near enough to get into the fight? Or does the uk system have different rules? It just seems like the spell does nothing and the us version of that spell is better. Or is the scan I'm reading a typo? The summon goblins says from on or off the board, the orc one doesn't.
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Advertisement

Make a small donation to Ye Olde Inn!

Donate via Paypal

Every cent received goes toward Ye Olde Inn's maintenance and allows us to continue providing the best resources for HeroQuest and Fantasy Gaming fans.

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Sjeng » Monday January 7th, 2013 1:17pm

I've never really read those cards that well, and it seems you're right. The UK and Dutch versions all state the orcs must be in his line of sight, making the spell kinda useless indeed... I'd say pick 2 from on or off the board, same as goblins, only less in number.

RPG Gateway Die Roller's 100

Uncle Zargon
Wants YOU!

HeroQuest YeOldeInn

Image Image Image Image


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote twenty (20) articles for the Blog in three (3) sections. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Official Spokesman
Sjeng
Ye Olde Orcish Bard

Chaos Warlock
Chaos Warlock
 
Posts: 4507
Images: 92
Joined: Tuesday July 26th, 2011 9:58am
Location: The Netherlands
Forum Language: Nederlands
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Fullork345 » Thursday January 10th, 2013 12:15pm

Another thought I had, is maby it allows 2 to make 2 attacks? You choose two you didn't do already, they move/attack, then they can act normally?

I guess the same for the goblin spell?

Just a thought.
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Patroclus » Thursday January 10th, 2013 4:11pm

No, it’s not a typo… but as Sjeng says, use it like the “summon goblins” card, even if the orcs are not in play. It’s a summon anyway… and even then, the 4 goblins are more lethal than the 2 orcs.


Rewards:
Hosted a Play-by-Post game. Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in two (2) Miniature Exchanges. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Patroclus

Elven Warrior
Elven Warrior
 
Posts: 658
Images: 19
Joined: Monday January 31st, 2011 9:07am
Location: Athens, Greece
Usergroups:
Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Fullork345 » Friday January 11th, 2013 6:35pm

No, it’s not a typo


Well that's how I'll use it if I ever play wizards. But it still seems like a typo since that isn't actually what the card says.
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Sjeng » Saturday January 12th, 2013 6:30am

summon means to call forth. so it has nothing to do with additional attacks. Just take 2 orcs from on or off the board and place them in the room with the shaman, let them attack once.

RPG Gateway Die Roller's 100

Uncle Zargon
Wants YOU!

HeroQuest YeOldeInn

Image Image Image Image


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote twenty (20) articles for the Blog in three (3) sections. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Official Spokesman
Sjeng
Ye Olde Orcish Bard

Chaos Warlock
Chaos Warlock
 
Posts: 4507
Images: 92
Joined: Tuesday July 26th, 2011 9:58am
Location: The Netherlands
Forum Language: Nederlands
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Fullork345 » Saturday January 12th, 2013 12:21pm

Sjeng wrote:summon means to call forth. so it has nothing to do with additional attacks. Just take 2 orcs from on or off the board and place them in the room with the shaman, let them attack once.


I know what summon means, but I was going by what the acard itself says. ANd I already said that's how I would play it.

I'm just saying that that's a way to read it since the card itself doesn't actually say take them from off the board, the goblin one does and is quite clear. Obviously a typo of sorts was made when they made the card.

But my initial question was answered, it was a typo on the card and not ment to be useless.
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Daedalus » Sunday January 20th, 2013 5:59pm

I don't think it's necessary to treat the Summon Orcs spell as containing a typo. Rather, it's a spell with more limited uses that should be judged against the two Quests that the Orc Shaman appears in. In Lair of the Orc Shaman, the benefit of the spell is Orc placement/movement. A pair of Heroes could quickly put the Orc Shaman at risk on his right flank, but it is unlikely a third Hero will have enough movement to attack him that early. Summon Orcs would then be useful to shore up the vulnerable right (top) flank with extra Orcs without compromising the Shaman's left flank. Also, the table makes it possible for a pair of Orcs to be caught behind the Heroes, making them pretty useless for saving their boss. Summon Orcs can put them in a more tactical position as a meat shield, allowing the Shaman more casting opportunities.

The Summon Orcs spell comes into its own during the following Quest, The Final Conflict. The Orc Shaman starts on the board and is free to move and open doors, thus revealing Orc-summoning possiblilities before the Heroes have a chance to stop him. Summoned Orcs could then be placed behind battle lines, where their attacks could do more harm. Also, getting two more Orcs into an otherwise bottlenecked room makes Sharpen Blades or Shield of Protection all the more useful.

Patroclus wrote:… and even then, the 4 goblins are more lethal than the 2 orcs.

While I'll agree with you that normally 4 Goblins are more dangerous than 2 Orcs, I'd also point out that the Orcs in the Lair of the Orc Shaman are elite bodyguard that have improved stats of Attack 4 and Defend 3. This makes them more lethal than even 4 Goblins. Check the last post of the thread to see why (an Orc elite bodyguard is 13 XP).
..
UNCLE ZARGON
Image
WANTS.. YOU


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in five (5) Play-by-Post games. Created a Hot Topic. Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy!Crushed a powerful Chaos Warrior! Smashed a massive Gargoyle! Encountered all eight (8) Game System monsters. Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Editor-in-Chief
Daedalus
Slacker Ruleslawyer

Wizard
Wizard
 
Posts: 3490
Images: 14
Joined: Monday May 9th, 2011 2:31pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Fullork345 » Friday March 8th, 2013 7:36pm

I don't think it's necessary to treat the Summon Orcs spell as containing a typo. Rather, it's a spell with more limited uses that should be judged against the two Quests that the Orc Shaman appears in. In Lair of the Orc Shaman, the benefit of the spell is Orc placement/movement. A pair of Heroes could quickly put the Orc Shaman at risk on his right flank, but it is unlikely a third Hero will have enough movement to attack him that early. Summon Orcs would then be useful to shore up the vulnerable right (top) flank with extra Orcs without compromising the Shaman's left flank. Also, the table makes it possible for a pair of Orcs to be caught behind the Heroes, making them pretty useless for saving their boss. Summon Orcs can put them in a more tactical position as a meat shield, allowing the Shaman more casting opportunities.

The Summon Orcs spell comes into its own during the following Quest, The Final Conflict. The Orc Shaman starts on the board and is free to move and open doors, thus revealing Orc-summoning possiblilities before the Heroes have a chance to stop him. Summoned Orcs could then be placed behind battle lines, where their attacks could do more harm. Also, getting two more Orcs into an otherwise bottlenecked room makes Sharpen Blades or Shield of Protection all the more useful.


But can't all that be done without the spell? Once again the orcs can move normally. And the spell requires line of site. if it said take them from anywhere on the board and place them within his line of site like the goblin does, it would still have a use.

To each his own I guess though.
Fullork345

Gargoyle
Gargoyle
 
Posts: 137
Joined: Thursday January 3rd, 2013 7:22pm
Forum Language: English (United States)
Evil Sorcerer: Zargon
Hero:
Usergroups:
Champion Group Member

Re: Orc shaman spells question

Postby Sjeng » Saturday March 9th, 2013 4:43am

in case someone wants this:

orc-spell-summon-orcs-sjeng.jpg
eu_orcshaman_back.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RPG Gateway Die Roller's 100

Uncle Zargon
Wants YOU!

HeroQuest YeOldeInn

Image Image Image Image


Rewards:
Grin's Stone Map Played a turn in a Play-by-Post game. Wrote twenty (20) articles for the Blog in three (3) sections. Created a Hot Topic. Participated in three (3) Miniature Exchanges. Zealot Miniatures: Twisting Catacombs Kickstarter Backer Slain a measly Goblin! Slaughtered an Orc! Killed a mighty Fimir! Shattered a Skeleton! Destroyed a Zombie! Unravelled a Mummy! Encountered a menacing Chaos Warlock!
User avatar
Official Spokesman
Sjeng
Ye Olde Orcish Bard

Chaos Warlock
Chaos Warlock
 
Posts: 4507
Images: 92
Joined: Tuesday July 26th, 2011 9:58am
Location: The Netherlands
Forum Language: Nederlands
Evil Sorcerer: Morcar
Hero:
Usergroups:
Wizards of Zargon Group Member Adventurers' Guild Group Member Artists Group Member Champion Group Member Scribes Group Member

Next

Return to Wizards of Morcar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests