Page 1 of 4

The Death Mist

PostPosted: Saturday May 11th, 2013 10:18am
by AerynB
Dave and I got some time to play the next RotWL quest last night. It was Quest 3: The Silent Passages, the one with the Death Mist. Dave's heroes are so strong that I don't usually do a whole lot of damage to them, but the Death Mist was a big help. :twisted: A bunch of Heroes lost all their body points so Dave had to use some of his potions. It was great.

But now that I've finally played the quest, I have some questions about the rules for the Death Mist.
1. It says to put the Death Mist tile on the gameboard "at the beginning of the Quest." Does this mean at the very VERY beginning, or as soon as a Hero turns the corner and "sees" it? I figured if the rules meant when the Mist is first "seen," it would have said something to that effect, so I put it on the board as soon as the Heroes entered the dungeon. Is that correct?

2. The Heroes lose 1 BP when the Mist passes over them on Zargon's turn, but what if they pass over the Mist on their turn. Do they lose a body point then? We played that the Heroes don't lose a point when passing over the Mist tile on their turn, only because it didn't say that explicitly in the rules. Common sense tells me the Heroes should have lost a body point for moving through the mist, or possibly we should have treated it as a trap square and they had to attempt to jump the tile to avoid losing the body point. What do you all think?

3. The Mist may not end its movement on a square with a Hero, but can a Hero end his movement on the Mist tile? I ruled that it was okay, sort of like in number 2 above. Since it didn't explicitly say the Heroes couldn't end on the Mist tile, then it was okay if they did. Again, common sense tells me this shouldn't be so. Same thing as a trap, if you end on the Mist tile, you lose 1 BP. What do you think?

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Saturday May 11th, 2013 10:55am
by TMU
1. I think that's correct. I do the same.

2. & 3. I don't allow heroes to make any contact with the Death Mist, so they can't go over, or stop on to the square where the Death Mist stands.

But these are just my :2cents:

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Saturday May 11th, 2013 11:48am
by Sjeng
1. Yes, correct.
2. Your common sense is what I did.
3. I treat the mist like a monster you can pass through at the cost of 1 bp. Can not stop on the same square.

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Saturday May 11th, 2013 11:58am
by knightkrawler
1. cf. Sjeng's post
2. cf. Sjeng's post
3. cf. Sjeng's post

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Saturday May 11th, 2013 6:17pm
by Ethica
I Agree with sjeng also.

On a related matter. Does anyone have any alternative to the death mist tile? (not cotton wool though).

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Saturday May 11th, 2013 10:33pm
by sadkitchen
Ethica wrote:I Agree with sjeng also.

On a related matter. Does anyone have any alternative to the death mist tile? (not cotton wool though).


I don't have one but would assume that a properly painted air elemental mini would probably do the trick.

-sadkitchen

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Saturday May 11th, 2013 11:47pm
by Goblin-King
Or mock up a twirl of green stuff.

I know, I know... Green stuff is my solution to everything ;)

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Sunday May 12th, 2013 1:08am
by knightkrawler
You guys give me ideas...
If there's no suitable mini in my Reaper Bones reward, I'm gonna make me a Death Mist, yay!

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Sunday May 12th, 2013 2:21pm
by Ethica
The haunt in the bottom left here is almost perfect. It's a little bigger than 1 square though :(

KS_HauntReward.jpg


And while I was looking for this picture to refer to I stumble on this!!-

http://www.reapermini.com/forum/index.p ... -are-leds/

Re: The Death Mist

PostPosted: Sunday May 12th, 2013 2:36pm
by knightkrawler
Ethica wrote:The haunt in the bottom left here is almost perfect. It's a little bigger than 1 square though


That's not gonna be a problem for me. Takes up two squares, cavalry base, passing through takes two squares (still only one lost BP) and that's that.